Home   • Personal •

< Personal


> Intro

> Career

> Education

• Union


 

— Professional: Union —

Trade-Union Work

I joined the tame yellow PTT in-house union ChPTT in 1975 and soon accepted some voluntary functions, first in commissions, later in committees and finally assumed responsibility for the web presence for www.chptt.ch in 1996. The union merged with other C-unions who where under the same umbrella of the VGCV. The trade-union got a new name: transfair. I took over the office of the Webmaster from the beginning. During this time I built up the whole site twice. With the help two other colleagues — volonteers, too — each issue of the union journal was published completely in three languages: German, French and Italian.

A couple of self-written PHP scripts permitted the secretaries to publish important information directly by themselves. A guestbook was written in Perl CGI and an AltaVista forum installed. Since the second half of 2006 the site is being maintained by the «Mediamatics» apprentices at the union headquarter. After 10 years it was time to make room for the young and modern ideas.

For the webteam, I held a web course during two days at Nottwil. Later, I wrote an elaborate correspondance course that covered protocols, HTML and image processing (over 200 pages) that was completed in 8 legs by the members of the webteam.

I assumed voluntary trade-union functions for many years because I believe in solidarity. I hate power struggles and think an enterprise only functions if everybody does his or her part. The company will be successful if everybody is important and nobody is more important.

With the close relationship I had to all «Union Bosses» helped me enormously to prevent the demolition of the satellite-earth station by Swisscom and make the trite bean counter at the time looking for buyers for the installation.

 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.

Home   • Persönlich •

< Persönlich


> Intro

> Karriere

> Ausbildung

• Gewerkschaft


 

— Beruf: Gewerkschaft —

Gewerkschaftsarbeit

1975 trat ich der zahmen, gelben PTT Hausgewerkschaft ChPTT bei und übernahm bald Gewerkschaftsaufgaben, zuerst in Kommissionen, dann in Gremien, schließlich 1996 mitverantwortlich für den Internet-Auftritt www.chptt.ch. Die Gewerkschaft fusionierte mit anderen C-Verbänden, welche bereits unter dem Dach des VGCV vereint waren. Die Gewerkschaft erhielt einen neuen Namen: transfair. Von Anfang an übernahm ich das Amt des Webmasters. In dieser Zeit baute ich die Website zweimal vollständig neu auf. Mit zwei weiteren ehrenamtlich tätigen Kollegen wurde jede Ausgabe der Verbandszeitung vollständig in den drei Sprachen Deutsch, Französisch und Italienisch ins Netz gestellt.

Verschiedene selbst geschriebene PHP Skripte erlaubten den Sekretären, wichtige Informationen direkt selber zu publizieren. In Perl CGI wurde ein Gästebuch erstellt und ein AltaVista Forum eingerichtet. Seit Mitte 2006 wird die Website von den Mediamatiker Lehrlingen betreut. Nach 10 Jahren war es an der Zeit den Jungen und modernen Ideen Platz zu machen.

Für das Webteam hielt ich einen zwei Tage dauernden Webkurs in Nottwil. Später schrieb ich noch einen umfangreichen Fernkurs, welcher die Themen Protokolle, HTML und Bildbearbeitung umfasste (über 200 Seiten), der von den Teamkollegen in 8 Etappen absolviert wurde.

Ehrenamtliche Gewerkschaftsfunktionen nahm ich während vieler Jahre wahr weil ich an Solidarität glaube. Ich hasse Machtkämpfe und denke ein Betrieb funktioniert nur, wenn alle ihren Teil leisten. Erfolg stellt sich ein, wenn alle wichtig sind und niemand wichtiger.

Der gute Draht zu allen «Gewerkschaftsbossen» half mir enorm dabei, den Abbruch der Anlage in Leuk durch Swisscom zu verhindern und den damaligen einfallslosen Bohnenzähler dazu zu bewegen, Käufer dafür zu suchen.

 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.