Home   • Personal •

< Personal


> Intro

> Literature

> Audio

• Computer

> Programming

> Internet

> Network

> Publikations


 

— Private: Computer —

Microcomputer

When I worked through a microcomputer course by HP in 1979, a light went up: You can do everything with a computer, just think and program, all at no cost. Just one initial financial investment. This was an ignis fatuus — a friar's lantern as it turned out soon enough. In 1980 I purchased the Sinclair ZX80 with a Z80 processor clocked at 3.25 MHz, the 4 KB ROM comprised the operating system and a BASIC interpreter. There was 1 KB to store the data and that all cost as much as an office computer with a Pentium V and a 150 GB hard disk in 2007. Soon, a 16 KB RAM pack was added and the money laid out for it would buy a 4 GB USB stick in 2007. The 16 KB data could be saved on an audio cassette, which took 7 minutes.

I soon hit the limit. The ZX81 ROM was purchased (all had to be imported from the UK in those times) and a usable keyboard was built. Together with a friend we built the hardware anew — on a bread board which could accept 14 x 10 16 pin IC's. Almost 100 simple logical circuits were connected up using wire wrapping. We wanted to understand what really was going on and got 64 KB of RAM, besides. An electric daisywheel typewriter was modified and an interface built for it. This printer made 7 impacts per second and the quality of the print was fantastic, so was the wear of the daisywheels. The ZX81 ROM was disassembled part by part and printed. Finally, hard- and software were fully understood. There was no unknown bit at any time.

Backplane

Once the content of the ROM was known, I programmed additional functions in machine language, extended the existing BASIC with EPROM's, more fonts and routines for further hardware were added. Later, a FORTH-ROM was ordered. A toggle switch permitted to boot either Sinclair BASIC or Husband FORTH — this was a bit like a Windows - Linux multiboot system today.

CP/M (Control Program for Microcomputers)

Then, I purchased an Osborne Executive computer with a 7 inch monochrome amber display — a portable computer with a handlebar. Very modern with the CP/M+ (CP/M 3) operating system, a Z80 processor clocked at 4 MHz, 128 KB of RAM in 2 memory banks, 2 5¼" disk drives (single sided, 183 KB capacity). The ultimate superfast gamer machine is lower priced at 2007 than the Osborne was then. However, a Microsoft BASIC, a SuperCalc spreadsheet, WordStar, a Perl database system, a compiler BASIC and an alternate UCSD-p operation system were all included.

Computers

Hardware

The modified Sinclair ZX80/81 was retired and a new computer was built. Instead of the huge «motherboard» a Z80 bus was introduced. The CPU with RAM and ROM was wrapped on a board that could be plugged into the frame at any place. Additional cards were 'IC-ised'. An EPROM burner was built in order to be able to upgrade the firmware. I developped my own parallel interface, the hardware based on a simplified IEEE-488 (IEC-625) standard, as for the handshaking protocol, I invented my own. This enabled me to connect the Osborne to the new computer. The interface handled a throughput of 20 KB over 20 m (60 ft) reliably.

SBCS Board

A plug-in card with a phoneme synthesizer was developed as well. On the Osborne, I wrote software in compiler BASIC that could prepare texts written in English, German or French and send them to the phoneme synthesizer, which in turn spoke the texts to me.

PC-DOS

Then, the PC-DOS machines came. Also this operating system was easy to comprehend, after all, it was — in long parts — just a copy of CP/M. The plug-in card computer got obsolete. The next project was a CPAC which was featured in the German computer magazine c't. I built 7 units. It is a highly integrated system based on the Z80 (I had acquired a fairly profound grip on the hardware in the meantime) with 32 KB EPROM and 32 KB RAM, a serial and parallel interface, extendable Z80 bus, and so on. I wrote my own operating system for it. Without keyboard and display, the units have to be controlled by a «real» computer via the RS-232C interface.

Two CPAC's are in service, one as a test unit (yes, it does work over the Ethernet with an appropriate RS-232C to LAN converter), the other one controls a self built two channel analogue-digital-analogue converter. Put in front of a cathode-ray oscilloscope it makes a storage oscilloscope and used together with a HP wave analyzer this makes an audio frequency spectrum analyzer. This ADA converter can be used as a data logger, too.

There are links to more elaborate presentations of my hardware projects under the Projects heading.

 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.

Home   • Persönlich •

< Persönlich


> Intro

> Literatur

> Audio

• Computer

> Programmieren

> Internet

> Netzwerk

> Publikationen


 

— Privat: Computer —

Microcomputer

Beim Durcharbeiten eines Microcomputer Kurses von HP im Jahre 1979 ging mir ein Licht auf: Mit einem Computer kann man alles machen, nur denken und programmieren, das kostet nichts. Eine einmalige finanzielle Investition. Dieses Licht war ein Irrlicht, wie sich bald herausstellen sollte. 1980 erwarb ich mir einen Sinclair ZX80 mit einem mit 3.25 MHz getakteten Z80 Prozessor, das 4 KB ROM fasste das Betriebsystem und den BASIC Interpreter. 1 KB RAM stand zur Speicherung der Daten zur Verfügung und das Ganze kostete soviel, wie 2007 ein günstiger Bürocomputer mit Pentium V, 1 GB RAM und einer 150 GB Festplatte. Bald wurde ein 16 KB RAM Pack dazugekauft, mit dem dafür ausgegebenen Geld kauft man 2007 ein 4 GB USB Stick. Die 16 KB Daten konnten auf einer Tonbandkassette gespeichert werden, was 7 Minuten benötigte.

Bald stieß man an Grenzen. Das ZX81 ROM wurde gekauft (alles musste damals von England importiert werden) und eine brauchbare Tastatur gezimmert. Mit einem Kollegen zusammen wurde eine eigene Hardware gebaut – auf einer Laborkarte, welche 14 x 10 16-pin IC aufnehmen konnte. Gegen 100 einfache logische Schaltkreise wurden auf dieser Karte mittels Wire-Wrap verbunden. Man wollte verstehen wie es funktioniert und hatte obendrein 64 KB RAM. Eine elektronische Typenrad-Schreibmaschine wurde umgebaut, eine Schnittstelle dafür entwickelt und eingebaut. Dieser Drucker schaffte 7 Anschläge in der Sekunde. Die Qualität der Ausdrucke war fantastisch, der Verschleiß an Typenrädern ebenfalls. Das ZX81 ROM wurde Stück für Stück disassembliert und ausgedruckt. Am Schluss waren Hard- und Software vollständig verstanden. Es gab zu keinem Zeitpunkt ein unbekanntes Bit.

Backplane

Nachdem der Inhalt der ROM bekannt war schrieb ich erweiterte Funktionen in Maschinensprache und baute mit EPROMs die Sprache aus, dazu kamen weitere Zeichensätze und spezielle Hardwarefunktionen. Später wurde noch ein FORTH-ROM gekauft. Mittels eines Schalters konnte entweder Sinclair BASIC oder Husband FORTH gestartet werden – das ist ein Bisschen wie ein Windows - Linux Multi-Boot System.

CP/M (Control Program for Microcomputers)

Dann erwarb ich mir einen Osborne Executive Computer mit 7 Zoll monochromen, bernsteinfarbenen Bildschirm – ein portables Gerät mit Griff. Sehr modern mit dem CP/M+ (CP/M 3) Betriebsystem, 4 MHz getaktetem Z80 Prozessor, 128 KB RAM in 2 Banken, 2 5¼" Disketten Laufwerke, einseitig mit 183 KB Kapazität. Der ultimate, superschnelle Gamer-Computer kostet 2007 weniger als der Osborne damals. Immerhin war ein Microsoft BASIC dabei, ein SuperCalc Tabellenkalkulationsprogramm, WordStar, Perl-Datenbank, ein Compiler-BASIC und nebst dem CP/M+ noch das UCSD-p Betriebsystem.

Computers

Hardware

Der modifizierte Sinclair ZX80/81 wurde außer Betrieb genommen und ein neuer Computer gebaut. Anstelle der riesigen «Mainboard» trat ein Z80 Bus, die CPU mit RAM und ROM war auf einer Steckkarte untergebracht. Weitere Karten wurden bestückt. Ein EPROM Programmiergerät wurde gebaut, damit die Firmware jederzeit dem neuesten Stand angepasst werden konnte. Eine eigene parallele Schnittstellenkarte wurde entwickelt. Die Hardware basierte auf einem vereinfachten IEEE-488 (IEC-625) Standard, das Handshaking Protokoll wurde selbst entwickelt. Damit konnte der Osborne mit dem neuen Computer verbunden werden. 20 KB konnten damit über 20 m fehlerfrei übertragen werden.

SBCS Board

Auch baute ich auf einer Steckkarte einen Phonem Synthesizer. Auf dem Osborne entwickelte ich die Software in Compiler BASIC um Texte, welche in deutscher, französische oder englischer Sprache geschrieben waren, an den Phonem Synthesizer senden zu können, der die Texte dann sprach.

PC-DOS

Dann kamen die PC-DOS Maschinen heraus. Auch dieses Betriebsystem war noch einfach zu verstehen, es war schließlich in weiten Zügen eine Kopie des CP/M. Der Steckkarten-Computer hatte ausgedient. Das nächste Projekt war ein CPAC, welcher um 1988 in der Zeitschrift c't vorgestellt wurde. Ich baute 7 Stück. Es handelt sich um ein Z80 basierendes, hoch integriertes System (man hatte die Hardware ja verstanden) mit 32 KB EPROM und 32 KB RAM, serieller und paralleler Schnittstelle, erweiterbarer Z80 Bus, usw. Ein eigenes Betriebssystem wurde geschrieben. Ohne Tastatur und Bildschirm müssen die Geräte von einem «richtigen» Computer via RS-232 bedient werden.

Zwei CPAC sind in Betrieb, einer zu Testzwecken (ja, es funktioniert auch über LAN mit einem entsprechenden RS-232C zu LAN Konverter), der andere steuert einen selbst entwickelten zweikanaligen Analog-Digital-Analog Konverter. Als Vorsatz zu einem Kathodenstrahl-Oszillographen ergibt sich ein Speicher-KO, zusammen mit einem HP Wave Analyzer wird der KO zum NF Spectrum Analyzer. Dieser ADA-Konverter kann auch als Datenlogger eingesetzt werden.

Ausführlichere Beschreibungen zu meinen Hardware-Projekten findet man unter den Projects Verweisen, allerdings nur in Englisch.

 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.