Photos   • HDRI & Panoramas •

< HDRI & Panoramas


> Intro

> Introduction

> Create

> Evil Flaws

• Tone-mapping

> HDRI Pictures


 

— HDRI: Tone-mapping —

Tone-mapping

Tone-mapping can be compared to the adjustment of brightness, contrast and gamma for conventional LDRI (Low Dynamic Range Image) pictures. However, different tone-mapping operators come with many more controls. There are global and local operators. Global operators work on the whole picture while local ones also adjust the particularly bright or dark parts without changing the rest of the picture considerably. At the time being, I am aware of the following tone-mappers:

  • Adaptive Logarithmic, global; 5 parameters.
  • Ashikhmin, global; 3 parameters. After Michael Ashikhmin.
  • Cipher, local; 10 parameters.
  • Display, global; 7 parameters.
  • Drago, global; 2 parameters. After Frédéric Drago.
  • Durand, global; 4 parameters. After Frédo Durand.
  • EriKate, local; 4 parameters. After Erik Reinhard und Kate Devling.
  • ExpLog, global; 0 parameters: Exponential oder Logarithmical.
  • Exponential, global; 8 parameters.
  • Fattal, local; 10 parameters. After Raanan Fattal.
  • Greg, global; 1 parameter. After Greg Ward.
  • Linear, global; 0 parameters.
  • Lock05, local; 10 parameters. After Thomas Lock.
  • Lock06, local; 10 parameters. After Thomas Lock.
  • Mantiuk, global; 3 parameters. After Rafal Mantiuk.
  • Pattanaik, local; 6 parameters. After Sumanta Pattanaik.
  • Photoreceptor, global; 9 parameters. Approach to film response.
  • Photoreceptor Physiology, global; 5 parameters.
  • Reinhard, global; 7 parameters. After Erik Reinhard.
  • Scan, global; 0 parameters. Francesco Banterle.
  • Schlick, local; 10 parameters. After Christophe Schlick.
  • Stockham, local; 10 parameters. After T.G. Stockham.

Tone-mapping Examples

Reinhard
After Erik Reinhard
Reinhard/Devling
After Erik Reinhard und Kate Devling
Stockham
After T.G. Stockham
Fattal
After Raanan Fattal
Detail Both Reinhards and Stockham are near the reality, Fattal is dramatised. All tone-mappings show the full brightness range: the light from the window and the fluorescent lamps are not «burned-out» and even the dark places are not completely black. The picture on top right was tone-mapped in HDRShop with one of Banterle's plugins, the other three in Artizen HDR 2.5.14.

The top left image is nearest to reality but it appears bland, poor in contrast and therefore a bit foggy. The one on top right is pleasingly bright, also down the corridor, but gives the impression of being in a hospital. Below left features a high contrast and good illumination. I would choose this picture to advertise for this place. Below at right finally is far away from reality but it enhances the shadows and gives this place a dramatic touch. Some parts are brightened up even though no light falls on them. The picture appears hard and the place unclean.

This is no ranking of tone-mapping operators. You select the tone-mapper according to the picture at hand and what you want to express with it. Besides, there are so many parameters to adjust that the result can be fine-tuned to one's desires. There is an almost infinite number of variations.

<< Mind the detail at left in its original size. The fluorescent tube is not overexposed and the faint neon light in the light switch still glows. Neither is the wall blindingly bright as it would be if a flashlight was used. This detail was extracted from the Stockham tone-mapped picture.

These examples are meant to show the potential of HDRI photography and tone-mapping, and encourage to start experimenting with it. The effort is well worth it!

This concludes the introduction into the topic but it is not yet exhausted, not at all. The basics explained here ought to suffice to start experimenting with HDRI photography, though.


 
  © 2004 - 2018 by Horo Wernli.

Fotos   • HDRI & Panoramen •

< HDRI & Panoramen


> Intro

> Einführung

> Erstellen

> Böse Fehler

• Tonwertumsetzen

> HDRI Bilder


 

— HDRI: Tonwertumsetzen —

Tonwertumsetzung oder Tone-mapping

Tonwertumsetzung ist vergleichbar mit dem Einstellen von Kontrast, Helligkeit und Gamma für konventionelle LDRI (Low Dynamic Range Image) Bilder. Allerdings gibt es, je nach Tonwertumsetzungs-Operator, viel mehr Regler. Man unterscheidet zwischen globalen und lokalen Tonwertumsetzern. Die globalen passen das ganze Bild an während die lokalen auch Anpassungen an besonders hellen oder dunklen Bildteilen vornehmen, ohne den Rest des Bildes zu stark zu verändern. Mir sind zur Zeit die folgenden Tone-mapping Operatoren bekannt:

  • Adaptive Logarithmic, global; 5 Parameter.
  • Ashikhmin, global; 3 Parameter. Nach Michael Ashikhmin.
  • Cipher, lokal; 10 Parameter.
  • Display, global; 7 Parameter.
  • Drago, global; 2 Parameter. Nach Frédéric Drago.
  • Durand, global; 4 Parameter. Nach Frédo Durand.
  • EriKate, lokal; 4 Parameter. Nach Erik Reinhard und Kate Devling.
  • ExpLog, global; 0 Parameter: Exponential oder Logarithmisch.
  • Exponential, global; 8 Parameter.
  • Fattal, lokal; 10 Parameter. Nach Raanan Fattal.
  • Greg, global; 1 Parameter. Nach Greg Ward.
  • Linear, global; 0 Parameter.
  • Lock05, lokal; 10 Parameter. Nach Thomas Lock.
  • Lock06, lokal; 10 Parameter. Nach Thomas Lock.
  • Mantiuk, global; 3 Parameter. Nach Rafal Mantiuk.
  • Pattanaik, lokal; 6 Parameter. Nach Sumanta Pattanaik.
  • Photoreceptor, global; 9 Parameter. Annäherung an Film.
  • Photoreceptor Physiology, global; 5 Parameter.
  • Reinhard, global; 7 Parameter. Nach Erik Reinhard.
  • Scan, global; 0 Parameter. Francesco Banterle.
  • Schlick, lokal; 10 Parameter. Nach Christophe Schlick.
  • Stockham, lokal; 10 Parameter. Nach T.G. Stockham.

Tonwertumsetzungs-Beispiele

Reinhard
Nach Erik Reinhard
Reinhard/Devling
Nach Erik Reinhard und Kate Devling
Stockham
Nach T.G. Stockham
Fattal
Nach Raanan Fattal
Detail Die beiden Reinhard und Stockham sind nahe der Wirklichkeit, Fattal ist dramatisiert. Alle Tonwertumsetzungen zeigen den vollen Helligkeitsumfang: Das Licht vom Fenster und den Leuchstoffröhren ist nicht «ausgebrannt» und auch die dunklen Stellen sind nicht vollständig schwarz. Oben rechts wurde mit Banterle's Plugin in HDRShop tone-mapped, die anderen drei in Artizen HDR 2.5.14.

Oben links kommt der Wirklichkeit am Nächsten, wirkt aber fade, kontrastarm und dadurch etwas neblig. Oben rechts wirkt angenehm hell bis in den fernen Korridor und gibt den Eindruck, als befände man sich in einem Spital. Unten links weißt einen hohen Kontrast bei guter Helligkeit auf. Ich würde dieses Bild verwenden, um für diesen Ort zu werben. Unten rechts schließlich ist weit von der Realität entfernt, bringt aber die Schatten kontrastreich hervor. Teile sind stark aufgehellt, auf welche gar kein Licht fällt. Das Bild wirkt hart und der Raum unsauber.

Dies ist keine Rangierung der Tonwertumsetzungs-Operatoren. Man wählt den Tonwertumsetzer nach dem vorliegenden Bild und was man damit aussagen will. Zudem lassen sich viele Parameter einstellen, um das Resultat den Wünschen anzupassen. Dadurch ergeben sich ungezählte Variationen.

<< Man betrachte das Detail in Originalgröße links. Die Leuchtstoffröhre ist nicht überbelichtet und die Neon-Glimmlampe im Lichtschalter leuchtet. Das Detail ist dem nach Stockham tonwertumgesetzten Bild entnommen.

Diese Beispiele sollen das Potential der HDRI Fotografie und des Tonwertumsetzens aufzeigen und zu eigenen Versuchen anregen. Der Aufwand lohnt sich!

Damit ist die Einführung in das Thema abgeschloßen aber damit überhaupt nicht erschöpft. Die hier vermittelten Grundlagen sollten aber genügen, um selbst mit der HDRI-Fotografie zu experimentieren.


 
  © 2004 - 2018 by Horo Wernli.