Home   • Personal •

< Personal


> Intro

> Literature

• Audio

> Computer

> Programming

> Internet

> Network

> Publikations


 

— Private: Audio —

Audio — Tape Recording and Sound Sculptures

I got enthused by radio at quite an early age — my technical side — and that led to the trade I learned eventually. We had a piece of equipment at home that could record sound on a steel wire and a microphone for it, too. Playing with this gave me enormous fun. When I earned some money later on, I purchased open reel tape recorders and portable cassette recorders, microphones, built a 24 channel mixer …

Mixer

… and filters for the analogue voltage controlled electronic music synthesizer, bought an echo-reverb chamber (with tape loop), flanger (comb filter with BBD) and built up a small home studio.

Studio

I collected sounds and noises, produced radio plays using the voices of other enthusiasts, tried a bit to make music and used the synthesizer mainly to synthesise sounds which I assembled to compositions which I called Sound Sculptures. I started to seriously experiment with dummy head recording and got quite interested in how we perceive sound. Like the eye can be fooled when using appropriate pictures, the ear can be fooled, too.

VCEMS

I was moderately successful at competitions and won a hi-end cassette recorder, a CD player, microphones, tape reels and the like. I was an active member — even on the board — of the Cassettentonbandclub (society of the cassette tape recordists) and the Tonjägerverband (federation of the tape recordists). I was an active member of the German Arbeitskreis Musikelektronik e.V. (working group music electronics) for a couple of years and led the Swiss chapter.

When audio got digital, there was not enough money left to invest in new equipment — I got married, a daughter was born and then another one — and there was something new and very fascinating appearing on the horizon. What is left from the tape recording hobby is corresponding with friends in the round robin manner. This can be highly recommended to improve a foreign language!

Examples

There are a few examples made available as MP3 podcasts. The picture shows a sketch of the «composition» for Encounter. For each sound, schematics were drawn that showed how the different function generators and filters of the synthesizer had to be hooked up and to which value each parameter had to be set. Procedures to start and use the effects equipment, tape recorders, mixer, and so on, at any moment were written.

Szene (scenery in southern Greenland), ca 1978, ca. 4 Min, 2.9 MB.

Zug (train) Depart, ca 1978, ca. 2 Min, 2.3 MB.

Zug (train) Transit, ca 1978, ca. 1 Min, 1.4 MB.

Erdgeister (ghosts), September 1979, ca. 17 Min, 12.5 MB.

Encounter, March 1981, ca. 12 Min, 9.3 MB.

Environment, June 1981, ca. 11 Min, 10.3 MB.

  Partitur

Note: The sound sculptures were optimised for headphone listening.

The synthesizer was given away a few years ago, after all, you can use the computer to create music if you take the time necessary for it.

Sound and Music Archive

Instead of bringing back loads of photographs from my voyages through Europe, I brought back cassettes full of sounds collected. These I used to assemble holiday radio plays. I also collected many radio plays using a switch clock to start up the equipment when I was away at work. Therefore, a considerable amount of cassettes and reels collected.

Because I was very much concentrated on the ear at that period of time, I purchased a lot of records. There are few types of music I dislike, arias of operas are among them and the minimalist popular music of today. I have never found access to modern jazz.

Considering the classic type of music, the first two names are Beethoven and Bach, for the entertainment type Chuck Berry and the Rolling Stones — and as a contrast Vienna Teng. When working at home, rock music is very good to stimulate while the classical serves to relax and creates the recompense.

Archiv
 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.

Home   • Persönlich •

< Persönlich


> Intro

> Literatur

• Audio

> Computer

> Programmieren

> Internet

> Netzwerk

> Publikationen


 

— Privat: Audio —

Tonjägerei und Klangskulpturen

Ich konnte mich bereits früh für Radios begeistern – meine technische Seite – weshalb ich mich auch für das Erlernen eines entsprechenden Berufes entschieden hatte. Wir hatten zu Hause ein Gerät, welches Klänge auf magnetischen Stahldraht aufnahm und natürlich ein Mikrofon dazu. Damit hatte ich einen Riesenspaß und als ich später etwas verdiente, erwarb ich mir Spulentonbandgeräte und portable Cassettengeräte, Mikrofone, baute mir ein 24 Kanal Mischpult …

Mixer

… und Filter für den analogen spannungsgesteuerten Musiksynthesizer, kaufte mir ein Echo-Hall Gerät (mit Endlostonband), Flanger (Kammfilter, mit BBD) und baute mir damit ein kleines Tonstudio auf.

Studio

Damit sammelte ich Geräusche, machte Hörspiele mit den Stimmen anderer Tonjäger, versuchte etwas Musik zu machen und nutzte den Synthesizer hauptsächlich dazu, Klänge zu synthetisieren und diese zu einem Ganzen zusammenzustellen. Das nannte ich Klangskulpturen. Ich begann intensiv mit der Kunstkopfstereofonie zu experimentieren und interessierte mich dafür, wie der Mensch Klänge wahrnimmt. So wie das Auge mit Vexierbilder getäuscht werden kann, kann man auch das Ohr täuschen.

VCEMS

Ich hatte etwas Erfolg bei Wettbewerben und kam so zu einem Cassettengerät, CD Player, Mikrofonen, Tonbandspulen, Kopfhörern und dergleichen. Ich war viele Jahre aktives Mitglied – auch im Vorstand – beim Cassettentonbandclub und dem Tonjägerverband. Ich war auch für einige Jahre aktives Mitglied beim Deutschen Arbeitskreis Musikelektronik e.V. und betreute die Mitglieder aus der Schweiz.

Als die Digitalisierung in der Audiobranche aufkam, fehlte mir das Geld um aufzurüsten – man heiratete und es gesellten sich bald eine, dann eine zweite Tochter hinzu – zudem kam etwas Neues, das mich ungemein faszinierte. Was heute von der Tonjägerei übrig geblieben ist, ist die Korrespondenz auf Rundbändern. Eine sehr empfehlenswerte Beschäftigung um Fremdsprachen zu vertiefen!

Kostproben

Hier sind einige Kostproben meiner Klangskulturen als MP3 Podcasts verfügbar. Das Bild zeigt die Skizze zur «Komposition» Encounter. Für jeden Klang wurden Schemata gezeichnet wie die Elemente des Synthesizers verkabelt und auf welche Werte die Parameter eingestellt werden müssen. Weiter wurden Regieanweisungen für den Einsatz der Effektgeräte und die Mischpulteinstellungen zu jedem Zeitpunkt erstellt.

Szene (in Südgrönland), ca. 1978, ca. 4 Min, 2.9 MB.

Zug Abfahrt, ca. 1978, ca. 2 Min, 2.3 MB.

Zug Durchfahrt, ca. 1978, ca. 1 Min, 1.4 MB.

Erdgeister, September 1979, ca. 17 Min, 12.5 MB.

Encounter (Begegnung), März 1981, ca. 12 Min, 9.3 MB.

Environment (Umgebung), Juni 1981, ca. 11 Min, 10.3 MB.

Partitur  

Hinweis: Die Klangskulpturen wurden für das Hören mit Stereokopfhörern optimiert.

Der Synthesizer wurde vor einigen Jahren verschenkt, schließlich kan man mit dem Computer auch Musik machen, wenn man sich dafür Zeit nimmt.

Ton- und Musikarchiv

Anstatt von meinen Reisen durch Europa Fotos heimzubringen, brachte ich Geräusche mit. Diese stellte ich zu Ferien-Hörspielen zusammen. Auch sammelte ich viele Hörspiele, welche ich in meiner Abwesenheit mit Hilfe einer Schaltuhr aufnahm. Dadurch hat sich eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Cassetten und Spulen angesammelt.

Da ich in jener Zeit sehr stark auf das Ohr konzentriert war, hörte ich auch viel Musik und erwarb mir viele Schallplatten. Es gibt nur wenige Stilrichtungen, die mir nicht gefallen, Arien in Opern gehören dazu, auch kann ich wenig mit der heutigen minimalistischen Popmusik anfangen. Den Zugang zum Modern Jazz habe ich nie gefunden.

Im klassischen Bereich sind die ersten beiden Namen Beethoven und Bach, in der Unterhaltungsmusik Chuck Berry und die Rolling Stones – und als Kontrast Vienna Teng. Beim Arbeiten zu Hause werde ich durch Rock sehr angeregt, das Klassische dient der Entspannung und schafft den Ausgleich.

Archiv
 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.