Home   • Personal •

< Personal


> Intro

• Literature

> Audio

> Computer

> Programming

> Internet

> Network

> Publikations


 

— Private: Literature —

Reading

I spent my boyhood and youth mainly reading. Sports has never had enthused me. Of course, I undertook many things with my friends and also had to climb mountains 3500 metres (11,500 ft); since I can decide this myelf, I take the cable-car whenever possible. I learned to swim quite early and spent most of the summer at the nearby public baths. During the winter time, adventure books carried me off into the wide world.

During the adolescence, I fastened myself onto the supernatural: metaphysics and parapsychology. I calculated horoscopes, laid Tarot cards, read the magical works by Heinrich Cornelius Agrippa von Nettesheim and purchased books about how to correspond with the dead, the aura, spirits and witchcraft, read Nostradamus and devoured the novels by Gustav Meyrink. Of course, I believed everything I read and was accordingly scared. This gave me the kick other may seek with Bungee Jumping.

Later, I got a bit more rational and changed to psychology. Jung, Freud, Adler were read, later I found Bachofen (who appears to be the root of them all). This was followed by Hesse, Nietsche and his teacher Schoppenhauer and that ones teacher Kant. I arrived at philosophy.

Away from the occident I read through the Indian (a bit sweet for my taste) and subsequently through the Chinese philosopy to which I felt quite attached because of its spiritual clarity. During that time, I got myself quite involved in the «Young Church», but quit the church in 1972 after I had seen enough.

Magische Werke

For diversion I am reading mostly — but not exclusively — science fiction and fantasy novels. The most important authors writing in the English language are Isaac Asimov, Stephen R. Donaldson, J.R.R. Tolkien, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, George R.R. Martin and Peter V. Brett. For pure literature, I prefer the German language and there is only one name for me: the greatest of them all is Goethe. Of course, there are may authors that I find excellent and, like Elias Canetti, many of them could be mentioned here.

 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.

Home   • Persönlich •

< Persönlich


> Intro

• Literatur

> Audio

> Computer

> Programmieren

> Internet

> Netzwerk

> Publikationen


 

— Privat: Literatur —

Lesen

Meine Kindheit und Jugend verbrachte ich hauptsächlich lesend. Sport hat mich bis heute nicht begeistern können. Natürlich unternahm ich auch Verschiedenes mit meinen Kollegen und musste auch auf 3500 Meter hohe Berge steigen; seit ich das selbst entscheiden kann, nehme ich die Seibahn, wenn immer möglich. Ich lernte früh schwimmen und verbrachte die meiste Zeit im Sommer in der Badeanstalt, im Winter führten mich die Abenteuer der Jugendbücher in die weite Welt.

In der Adoleszenz verbiss ich mich in das Übersinnliche: Metaphysik und Parapsychologie. Ich berechnete Horoskope, legte Tarotkarten, las die Magischen Werke des Heinrich Cornelius Agrippa von Nettesheim und erwarb mir Bücher über das Korrespondieren mit Verstorbenen, die Aura und Geisterwesen und verschlang Gustav Meyrink Romane. Natürlich glaubte ich alles was ich las und fürchtete mich auch entsprechend. Das gab mir den Kick, den andere vielleicht beim Bungee Jumping suchen.

Später wurde ich etwas rationaler und wechselte zur Psychologie. Jung, Freud, Adler wurden gelesen, später stieß ich auf Bachofen. Darauf folgten Hesse, Nietsche und sein Lehrer Schoppenhauer und dessen Lehrer Kant, womit ich bei der Philosophie angelangt war.

Vom Abendland weg stürzte ich mich in die Indische (fand ich etwas süß) und anschließend in die Chinesische Philosophie, welche mich wegen ihrer geistigen Klarheit sehr anzog. In dieser Zeit engagierte ich mich stark in der «Jungen Kirche», trat dann aber 1972 aus der Kirche aus, nachdem ich genug gesehen hatte.

Magische Werke

Als Unterhaltung lese hauptsächlich – aber nicht ausschließlich – Science-Fiction und Fantasy Romane. Die wichtigsten englischsprachigen Autoren sind mir Isaac Asimov, Stephen R. Donaldson, J.R.R. Tolkien, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, George R.R. Martin und Peter V. Brett. Für Literatur ziehe ich die deutsche Sprache vor und da gibt es für mich nur einen Namen, der über allen steht: Goethe. Natürlich finde ich viele weitere Autoren ausgesprochen gut und wie Elias Canetti könnte noch mancher erwähnt werden.

 
  © 2004 - 2017 by Horo Wernli.